Kat’s Cafe – Spoken Word Night

I’m a sucker for live music. May I say it again? I am a sucker for live music. I love the smooth sound of live jazz and I love hearing other people sing familiar tunes.

I also enjoy spoken word. And what better way to enjoy the two than to support a fellow friend? So I did just that! My sister dragged me out on a Wednesday night so that we can enjoy spoken word from our childhood friend. I am so glad I did! See, I am not a weeknight kinda girl. I like to do most of my fun on a weekend so that I still have time to relax before the next day. But because I am in my late/mid-twenties, I recognize that hanging out on weeknights are a part of my “agely” duties. (Yes, I made that word up.)

So here is where Kat’s Cafe come to play. In support of a local spoken word artist, who goes by the stage name Spoken Wood, I decided to see what Kat’s Cafe was all about. After all, it’s my personal mission to explore the City. The night is called “Wish Wednesdays” and local artists (musicians and poets) are able to sign up to perform as they walk in. The cover is $7 and it is free parking – practically, unheard of in midtown. The crowd was mostly younger, which I believe had to do with the main performer’s friends and his age group. However, looking at Yelp reviews, the crowd is usually mature (40’s or so) on other nights.

Here are Four Fast Facts about Kat’s Cafe:

  1. Veggie Pizza is a must !!
  2. Great local artists with various backgrounds
  3. Intimate feel
  4. Late Start on the Show/Performance

 

Overall, I liked Kat’s Cafe and I believe I will be back for other featured nights.

1 Peter 4: 10 – Each of you has been blessed with one of God’s many wonderful gifts to be used in the service of others. So use your gift well.(CEV)

 

Leave a Reply

