The Highland Tap

I am a self-proclaimed foodie. I love food. I love everything about food. So more often than not, I go to restaurants that I have never been to before.

The Highland Tap, located in Virginia Highland (hence the name) is a pub feel with quality food. Their complete menu is hard to find online, but offer some amazing eats. On a Thursday night, we were seated right away. We ask for an appetizer but later found out that the waitress either forgot we ordered an appetizer or didn’t hear us order an appetizer – so we did without. That left us with the bread, which I could of done without (I am a bread lover).

I had the grilled salmon with mashed sweet potatoes and green beans. The salmon was a little dry for my liking, but my sides were amazing. And I am always a happy camper when sweet potatoes are done right, which is my favorite food. While I cannot remember exactly what my sister and mother had, the meat was good! My mother had some sort of beef and my sister, I believe, had either beef or lamb. As I said, I cannot remember, but both of them were good and made me second guess my choice.

On to dessert. I was the only one to get dessert and had a tough decision among the carrot cake, key lime cake, and red velvet cake (all a favorite in my “dessert” book). After narrowing it down between the carrot cake and the key lime cake, I asked the waitress who told me that the carrot cake was her favorite. So, I ordered the carrot cake. Bad mistake! It tasted like cardboard to me and made me regret my caloric intake. My sister, on the other hand, loved it.

Four Fast Facts:

  1. Great area with valet parking
  2. Fast Service
  3. Below average bread and dessert
  4. “Happy Hour” atmosphere

Matthew 4:4 – Jesus answered, “The Scriptures say:‘No one can live only on food. People need every word that God has spoken.’” (CEV)

 

Leave a Reply

