Conquering Fear – the Atlanta Rocks! Way

It is no secret that I have a long standing fear with heights. I don’t like bridges and I hardly do stairs. But I am getting older and quite frankly – I am tired of being scared! So when my sister suggested rock climbing as our monthly outing, I did not hesitate to say yes.

On the ride over (to Atlanta Rocks! Indoor Climbing Gym), my sister asked how I felt. I told her I didn’t want to think about it – and that is exactly what I did. I was well on my way to the place and couldn’t back out. So not thinking about it helped a lot.

While actually rock climbing – I could easily see that this place was a place for beginners and advanced people alike. My first couple of attempts, I hardly left the ground. But the more comfortable I became and trustworthy of the harness, the more I loosened up. Plus, my sister was outdoing me – and well, you know how competition can be with siblings! So, I essentially made it to the top and back down with ease towards the end of our hour.

atlanta rocks 2

Atlanta Rocks! Indoor Climbing gives you an hour for $15. There are also classes and other options to take to become an expert rock climber and opportunities to climb without a harness. Overall, I enjoyed myself and would love to come back. On to my next adventure…

 

 

 

 

 

Joshua 1:9 – “…Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (NIV)

Leave a Reply

